Hawaiian Islands

united-states-flag United States

The state of Hawaii consists of 8 main islands: Big Island (Hawaii), Maui, Kahoolawe, Lanai, Molokai, Oahu (Honolulu), Kauai, and Niihau.

Hawaii Big island

Each island has its own unique attractions and it is difficult to see all islands in one visit, unless you island-hop every 3-4 days or have a longer stay. I spent 11 days island-hopping through Big Island, Maui, and Oahu (Honolulu).

If you choose to island-hop, you should know the ferry services in Hawaii are only available from Maui to either Lanai or Molokai. The primary mode of transportation between neighbouring islands is by air only. The cost for an inter-island flight is usually between $70-140 USD.

Big Island

This island is best known as being an active volcano. It is not a dangerous volcano as it is effusive and constantly erupting so there is no pressure build up. This makes it a great attraction as it is safe to approach the lava.

O’ahu (Honolulu)

This island is very touristy and gives off the city life vibe. The Waikiki area offers many restaurants, nightlife, and hotels in close proximity to each other. There are many activities to be found here. However, crowded areas and heavy traffic are a huge negative for us.


The weather here is nicer than the Big Island and not as populated as O’Ahu. For those reasons, this is our favourite island!

Enjoy a great trip to Hawaii!





Share Button

Leave a Reply